Redpox1st’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Running Portable Applications From A TrueCrypt Volume

A Portable App (Application) does exactly as it says on the tin, Its an application that is portable, that can run from a usb stick, ipod, mp3 player etc……

You can use them for email, internet, office software , finances etc….

There are quite a few portable apps out there but PortableApps.com rules the roost when it comes to complete and total domination of the portable app world!

They have a Portable app suite which contains almost every program you will need with for day to day life all wraped up into one bundle including a launcher which will run from your choice of usb hardware.

“PortableApps.com Suite™ is a complete collection of portable apps including a web browser, email client, office suite, calendar/scheduler, instant messaging client, antivirus, audio player, sudoku game, password manager, PDF reader, minesweeper clone, backup utility and integrated menu, all preconfigured to work portably. Just drop it on your portable device and you’re ready to go.”

“Included Applications

PortableApps.com ScreenshotAll versions of the PortableApps.com Suite include the integrated PortableApps.com Menu (pictured at right) and the PortableApps.com Backup utility along with a set of custom icons, an autoplay configuration, folders and a quick start shortcut. In addition, the packages include:

This is some Kick ass FREE Software put together perfectly to run on Windows or Linux (via Wine), It is just plug and play, simple!

Download the software, extract it to your usb device and run it.

Its basically a whole operating system running from your usb without any need to reboot! you can add or remove programs as you see fit and with new program becoming available its a one stop shop for all your computing needs.

Some might say what happens if you lose your usb device? well it also contains an integrated back up tool so you can regulary back up to some other media.

Yeah but if I lose my usb device whoever finds it will have access to all my files, correspondence, contacts etc…….

This is where your TrueCrypt Volume comes in!!

If you followed my instructions for creating a TrueCrypt Volume all you have to do is mount your TrueCrypt Volume, extract the Portable app suite software to it and you now have a secure portable usb device that you can run all your programs on.

My personal setup:

As I have access to and use numerous different computers at work and at home I have a 16gb usb flash drive with a 14gb TrueCrypt Volume on it. From this encrypted volume I run Portable Apps to access/retrive my email (Thunderbird), My personal finances (GNUCash), Internet (Firefox) etc….. I also keep all my documents and files on it so I have access to everything I need where ever I go, the 14gb is enough space for me that I dont have to keep any buisness/personal files on any host computer, Everything is kept in that secure 14gb Volume, there is also another hidden 2gb TrueCrypt Volume inside it for my “More Sensitive” material.

When I am finished doing my buisness I unmount all my Volumes and I am left with a totally secure usb device with no trace of me on the host computer.

I hope this has been helpful to someone, This has been a very basic run down if anyone needs more details let me know, Any questions or comments please feel free.

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

